Spotlight – Joshua Harper

Categories: Team Member Spotlight

Family – married? Children? Pets? Married to Laura, daughter Stella, 2 dogs Suri and Remi, each name is a derivation of a French word and has meaning to how they came to join the family.

Where did you grow up? Interests as a child? What did you want to be “when you grew up”? Born in Jacksonville, FL. Moved to Georgia at 8 years old and grew up in what’s now Sandy Springs – before there was GA400. Growing up in Jacksonville gave me love for boats and the water. Naturally wanted to do international trade, logistics, etc. so went to school for these topics. During college, lived in France and loved being there but hated the work so needed to find a new path – that’s how I found financial planning. Love my profession as I’m half consultant/teacher, half technician. It’s not sales but I get to see people, have independence, and truly better lives. Best decision ever made getting into industry. Dad is a retired actuary and grandfather was a financial consultant himself, so it was a natural fit.

What college did you attend? What did you study? Best memories of those years? UGA Terry College of Business, Business Economics and French, graduate schooling at American College for all designations (CFP®, ChFC®, CLU®, RICP®). Best memories of college is simply said: Athens – game day, beautiful campus, big brick buildings amongst oak trees, restaurants, live music, great place to be.

Where in Atlanta do you live? What brought you here? Live in Ashford Park neighborhood of Brookhaven. Atlanta was a natural fit as it’s a big economy in south and my family is here. Only other attraction would be living closer to water – access to deep blue, salty water. Coastal culture.

Hobbies? Any charity or philanthropy? Retired soccer player so all straight-line sports now. Sailing is number one pastime – we have a sailboat on Lake Lanier which we try to use a frequently as possible. I also enjoy mountain biking, golf, tennis, even yard work.

Philanthropy – we try to give as much as can. Big supporter of Chattahoochee Riverkeeper which is an organization that works to help keep Atlanta’s water safe. They have volunteers (like my dad) that take water samples all over the city to test for contaminants, etc. There’s exactly one water source in Atlanta so we need to take care of it. My wife works in medical research so we support anything we can in that arena as well – cancer, Alzheimer’s, leukemia, autism, etc. – only get one body so take care of it.

If money were no issue, what would you do with your time? Sail – go anywhere, Gulf, Baja, Caribbean – a boat is just a floating condo so the view changes daily.

Favorite food? Worst food? Love spicy so Mexican, curry, and trash foods like nachos, onion rings, jalapeño poppers. Worst – chicken livers for sure. Not a huge fan of mushrooms, water chestnuts, or casseroles.

Cook or clean dishes? Cook

Favorite sports team(s)? Favorite book? Favorite movie? Luckily all my teams are red/black – UGA, Atlanta United, Falcons. For European soccer – Arsenal. Book: Ender’s Game, science fiction.

Furthest you’ve ever traveled? Best trip of life? Either South America/Europe – Greece furthest east. Best trip – boat charter with another family around British Virgin Islands. Nothing is more fun than watching two little girls adjust to living aboard.

Speak any other languages? French and the international language of math

Mountains, beach, or staycation? Beach.

Role model in your life? Dad – differ in many ways and may butt heads, but at end of day, always there. Supportive, successful, engaged, encouraged me through life to be self-sufficient.

What is one tidbit of information about you we wouldn’t expect? Oddly sensitive hearing in that I hear everything. Even the smallest rattle in a car or click of a clock. Convenient at times but makes conversations in loud areas difficult.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *

© Copyright - Healthcare Services